Future Economy Forum Leadership Awards

Honoring outstanding leaders who model the future

The purpose of the Future Economy Forum’s Leadership Awards is to honor the outstanding contributions of individuals and organizations towards creating a new economic mainstream that integrates the regeneration of people and societies, nature and the climate with business success and regional economic development.

We believe that only this mutually reinforcing integration of positive impact and economic success can motivate mainstream leaders and institutions to undergo the fundamental adjustments of their thinking and behavior to implement this new economic DNA that we call Regenerative Value Creation.

The world needs to be inspired

We believe that only this mutually reinforcing integration of positive impact and economic success can motivate mainstream leaders and institutions to implement Regenerative Value Creation.

This fundamental system change requires contributions from all relevant stakeholders. This is also reflected in SDG 17, the UN’s Sustainable Development Goal that calls for partnership and collaboration among stakeholders, without which none of the other SDGs can be achieved.

The 2022 Future Economy Forum’s Leadership Awards were therefore presented to representatives of diverse economic stakeholder groups.

Award Recipients


Rythu Sadhikara Samstha, led by Vijay Kumar and 600,000 women farmers of Andhra Pradesh Community Managed Natural Farming.


Peter Blom, long-time leader of Triodos Bank and founder of the Global Alliance for Banking on Values, active in 44 countries.

Civil Society

Club of Rome, pioneer in system thinking and action, and its co-president Sandrine Dixson-Declève.

Company Owner

Yvon Chouinard who donated his shares for climate action and his company Patagonia, a leader in regeneration-oriented business (awarded with ISPO Munich).

Corporate Board Chair

Michael Otto of Otto Group, a long-time leader of the regeneration-oriented business movement

Corporate CEO

Joao Paulo Ferreira, CEO of Natura and Natura & Co in Latin America that are models for regeneration-oriented business


Marilou van Golstein Brouwers, long-time leader of TIM and key leader of the impact investing and micro finance movements


Italian Senator Mauro del Barba, President of Assobenefit and to the Benefit Corporation

Past Recipients

The first 2021 Award, was presented to Emmanuel Faber, ex-CEO of Danone and Chair of the International Sustainability Standards Board.

Looking Forward

Because the collaboration of all stakeholders is crucial to achieve system change towards a new economic mainstream, we add in 2023 the following Award categories:

  • Athletes
  • Business education
  • Business movement
  • Culture
  • Economics
  • Faiths
  • Foundations
  • Government Leaders
  • Media
  • Philanthropists
  • Policy Makers
  • Social Entrepreneurs
  • Union Leaders

We plant 100 trees for each laureate

In honor of each award recipient, the Future Economy Forum is planting 100 trees that will gradually grow into a large forest at the Egyptian White Desert farm of Sekem, one of the Future Economy Forum’s founding partners. 3 million years ago, this desert was a thriving forest. Award recipients are invited to visit Sekem, one of the world’s leading examples of regenerative business and agriculture, education and culture for which Sekem was awarded with the Right Livelihood Award, also known as the ‘Alternative Nobel Prize’. Watch a short video below: