Gulbenkian Awards honor APCNF, Sekem, EBDA

Lisbon, Portugal. July 11, 2024

We are delighted to congratulate the Future Economy Forum partner organizations, Andhra Pradesh Community-managed Natural Farming, Sekem and Egyptian Biodynamic Association for being awarded the Gulbenkian Prize for Humanity, by the Portugal-based charitable foundation, Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation. A third award has been made to Rattan Lal, the respected scientist of Ohio State University.

The Gulbenkian award recognizes organizations for pioneering contributions to climate action. APCNF, Sekem and EBDA have been shortlisted from a stellar list of nominations received from over 115 countries. 

The winners were awarded by Angela Merkel, former German Chancellor and President of the Jury, at an award ceremony in Lisbon, which included speeches given by the President of the Republic of Portugal, Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa; President of the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation, António Feijó; and the winner of the 2024 Gulbenkian Prize for Humanity.

These awards are a powerful statement of the growing recognition of the importance of chemical-free agricultural movements globally as key climate solutions.
Sandra Diaz, Jury Member Gulbenkian Prize, said: “We don’t have to have a dichotomy between feeding the world and destroying the planet. And we know there is no way we’re going to have a better future without a change in food systems.”

Accepting the awards from Sekem and EBDA: Sekem’s Founder & CEO and Co-founder of the Future Economy Forum, Helmy Abouleish, Naglaa Ahmed and Justus Harm are in Portugal to accept the award.

Accepting the awards from APCNF: Executive Chairman, Vijay Kumar, Nagendramma Nettem, Smita Jacob, Lakshma Naik, B Rajsekhar, and R Aruna.

Future Economy Forum Co-founders Walter Link, Laura Santucci and Renske van Grinsven were in attendance to mark this important occasion.

The award ceremony was broadcast virtually on Thursday, July 11 from 8:45 PM EET through the livestream via the Foundation’s YouTube or Facebook channels: 

Photos by Renske van Grinsven, Marcia Lessa, Gulbenkian Foundation.